Product Review: Mineral Make-Up

posted on: Friday, 19 April 2013

We all want to find a mineral make-up that has a good coverage but still feels light and nourishing and I think I just found it!

The Body Shop Extra Virgin Mineral Liquid Foundation.
Picture taken from  

This foundation is thin in texture and glides onto the skin thanks to it's olive oil and marula oil ingredients. With a light to medium coverage it's a great option for girls who love versatile products.

Use it during the day for a beautiful light finish and for night add, a dusting of loose powder to help increase coverage.

The dewy mineral foundation is a great option coming into winter when our skin will need an extra dash of moisture.

The Mineral Liquid Foundation has an SPF 30 rating and is fragrance and paraben free, so safe for all skin types.

It really is a great foundation and can be purchased online or in-store for $48.95. Check out the rest of The Body Shop's Mineralised Range at

Saving Grace

posted on: Friday, 22 March 2013

Anyone who has moved overseas will understand when I say the only thing that doesn’t seem to change is your name. Since relocating to London, the combination of weather and water sent my entire skin care and beauty routine into mayhem. From head to toe these products have been my saving grace . . . 

BIG sea salt shampooLush. BIG is a sea-salt based shampoo, which also contains yummy ingredients like coconut oil, seaweed & citrus juice for balance and shine. It lathers, exfoliates and gives your hair amazing volume. Plus, all Lush products are hand made and eco friendly . . . What’s not to love? 

Rose Hair & Scalp Moisturising MasqueAesop. This is incredibly light and smells absolutely delish! If you’re new to Aesop do yourself a favour and pop in to your nearest store and pick up some free samples. I guarantee you will be back in the very next day to purchase! 

Sebu-range + AVST Gel + Alpha day lotion – Environ. Environ is by far my favourite discovery yet. Environ is a scientifically researched, vitamin enriched skin care range that literally feeds your skin. I cannot express how much this brand has changed my skin and my life! Environ can be purchased online however I strongly recommend you find your nearest clinical stockist to have a full consultation to select the range that is perfect for you. 

Natural Mineral Foundation + Mineral Primer + Pressed Mineral Rice Powder - Youngblood. Since moving overseas the acidity levels in my skin have shifted considerably causing my usual liquid foundation to oxidise into a completely different shade. Needless to say my mineral make-up has stayed true to colour and has readjusted to my new skin perfectly. 

Guest Blogger: Gaia

posted on: Friday, 15 March 2013

I am so excited to have my gorgeous friend Gaia guest blogging today! For as long as I have known Gaia she has been into healthy living and the go-to girl for anything health related, so I just had to steal some beauty tips off her to share with everyone! Enjoy. 

Gaia Meyjes-Brown

Gaia's top 5 tips to get glowing skin from the inside out

It's every girl's dream to have flawless, dewy skin all year round without the need for hours in the bathroom with drawers full of lotions and products. Having great skin (and hair and nails for that matter) starts from the inside, as without proper nutrients it is literally impossible for your body to make healthy, plump skin cells. Here's some simple tips you can apply to your everyday life to give your body the best chance of creating gorgeous glowing skin.

1. Eat Your Greens

Well actually, it would be more accurate to say "eat a rainbow" of fresh vegetables and a little fruit every day. More and more evidence is being discovered about the benefits of a plant based diet. Eating a variety of vegies will provide lots of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants to keep your skin in tip top condition. 

2. Drink Plenty of Water

I know we've all heard this one a million times, but it really does make a difference. There are those who say that the skin is the last place to get water when it enters your body, and that may be true, but water will help the body to flush out waste and that definately has to be a positive. 

3. Balance Your Digestion

This may not be a pleasant subject to raise in polite conversation, but it could possibly be the most important thing you can do for your health and your skin! When 'waste' builds up in the large intestine and becomes stagnant, all of that muck your body was trying to get rid of starts getting reabsorbed through the lining of the gut (eew!) This leads to breakouts, rashes, dryness and bumps on the skin, as well as a whole range of other health concerns; bowel cancer is one of Australia's biggest killers. At the other end of the scale, having loose, frequent BM's can cause dehydration and prevent your body from properly absorbing all the goodies in your food. 
So how do you balance digestion? 
See tips 1 and 2 to start with, all of that fibre in your fruit and vegies, as well staying hydrated goes a long way to keeping your body regular. 
Avoid foods that can cause inflammation and bloating; dairy and gluten are the main culprits here. If you can digest gluten, make sure it's only from whole-grain sources, and try to cut down or eliminate refined grains from your diet. 
Populate your gut with good bacteria by taking probiotics and eating cultured foods such as pickles, sauerkraut and kefir. 

4. Sweat It Out

Sweating every day is another great way to help your skin flush out imperfections. Whether its by hitting a pump or spin class, braving bikram yoga or even just relaxing in a sauna, sweating clears out the skin and detoxes the body. As a bonus, it also helps keep the skin moisturised and is antibacterial. 

5. Stress Less 

This is often easier said than done. Stress hormones can wreak havoc on the skin, causing break outs, and fine lines and wrinkles. While it may be impossible to eliminate all sources of stress from your life, you can try to change the way you respond to stressful situations (hint: reaching for the chocolate and wine isn't going to help your skin). Instead, why not try some deep breathing or meditation, make sleep and exercise a priority and take some time to be grateful for the good things in your life. 

These tips may not solve every skin concern, but they will all have a great impact on your overall health and your life. Obviously it goes without saying that things like smoking, sunbaking for hours and excessive alcohol consumption are all big no-no's if you're on a quest for compexion perfection. 

Tech Accessories

posted on: Saturday, 2 March 2013

I am happy to admit I have always been and will always be obsessed with accessories! From leather handbags to pens and pencils for some reason it's a love I can't shake.

My latest accessories obsession is tech accessories and Marc Jacobs is to blame. Today, I purchased a Marc Jacobs mobile phone skin, after looking at it online and then stumbling across it in David Jones I knew it was meant to be and my phone has never looked so cute!

Purchased from David Jones $39.95 

Chromatic Hues

This season power colours are making a comeback! 

No longer will black & white be classified just as a great workwear or evening option, in 2013 we will see chromatic hues everywhere. 

On The Runway: Loveshady, sass & bide's Autumn Winter 2013 Collection, is filled with chromatic creations. 
Black & white teamed with metallic accents, structured jackets and feminine flowing silks. This collection is a modern take on classic pieces. The Two Dimensions Jacket, pictured below (my favourtie and first purchase from the collection) oozes elegance but still is a modern creation. 

Ready to make a statement in black and white? Check out my favourite pieces below. 

picture: taken from  lookbook

Liners We Love

posted on: Tuesday, 26 February 2013

As a lover of liquid liner, I am constantly on the search for the best and easiest option. I think people can sometimes be put off using liquid liner thinking they are too hard to use or difficult to remove but that's not the case at all!

Trial and error (and a steady hand) has led me to find 3 top liquid liners and I think you will like them too!

Double Wear Zero Smudge Liquid Eyeliner by Estee Lauder has a unique brush, it is longer than most, enabling the user to define the eyes with one easy swish. It also has a continuous flow of liquid which creates a smooth, fine line.

M.A.C Liquid Eye Liner in 'Boot Black', is a great width for creating a winged eye. It's thick brush allows you to have complete control and create both thin or thick lines.

Maybelline's Master Precise Liquid Liner.This little baby is a god sent!  It's thin brush and pen like design make it so easy to use! The true black colour creates a dramatic effect and is one of the longest-lasting liners on the market.  

All these liners are long-wearing, smudge resistance, safe for sensitive eyes and can be easily removed.  

Wine Stained Lips

posted on: Wednesday, 6 February 2013

In 2012 we saw a lot of bordeaux style lips (think Lara Bingle) from maroon to vampy cherry, dark lips have never been so chic!

A bold lip doesn't look to be going away anytime soon, so let's get in on the action!

For wine stained colours the most important thing is to find a colour that is perfect for you, which isn't always easy. If you have a darker or olive complexion choose a purple, red based colour and for a fair skin a brown based tone is best.

Make sure that the rest of our make-up is fresh and basic, as a dark hue can sometimes be dulling. I like to wear a bold lip with a light eye colour and a thin lick of liner.

Colour Picks:

Kit Cosmetics Full Colour Glaze in What A Night $24.95
NARS Pure Matte Lipstick in Volga $40
YSL Rouge Put Couture un Noir Laque $50
M.A.C Lipstick in Media $36

Scared of a wine stained lip? Try a nail vanish.... Chanel le Vernis in Rouge Noir $39 or OPI Black Cherry Chutney $19.95. 

Wrist Wear

posted on: Thursday, 31 January 2013

Mixing golds, loving my wrist wear today! 

sass & bide, michael kors & marc jacobs

Pansy Polish

posted on: Tuesday, 22 January 2013

Painted nails for me are not only a necessity but an obsession, dark plum or hot pink whatever the colour I love a great painted nail.

Recently, we have seen such an increase of nail art on the runway & on celebrities and luckily for me I have a fabulous sister who loves nail art and today will share her DIY tips. 

Nail polish tutorial - Pansies

There are many different tutorials for nail polish available online but for a simple and cute floral design try pansies. 

They can be painted in any colour you like and all you will need is the following:

Yellow nail polish for the flower centre (My choice was the Maybelle Colorama mini in 100 Urban Lemon)

Background colour (I chose OPI's Mod About You)

Dark petal colour (I used Inglot #940)

Light petal colour (I used Inglot #947)

A shiny top coat (I used Seche Vite, a beautiful but toluene containing option. My favourite toluene free option is the Rimmel 60 Seconds clear

A nail brush for adding detail

Here are my "how to"steps:

Step 1 - Apply a base coat, followed by two coats of your chosen background colour.

Step 2 - With the dark colour, allow excess polish to drip off. Holding the brush vertically, press the flat bottom to the nail to produce two dots side by side. This can also be done using a dotting tool.

Step 3 - Using the lighter colour polish, repeat the dotting process with four more dots, one in the centre overlapping the darker ones, and the other three above and beside the first light dot.

Step 4 - Using a fine brush, apply detail with small radial lines of dark polish starting at the centre of the lighter dots and moving out.

Step 5 - Finish with a yellow dot at the centre of the flower and a shiny top coat.
Some polish may get on your skin, if you have more time on your hands you can carefully apply and touch up polish to remove these bits. Or you can do my favourite trick and just give the painted skin a rub under warm water, it will rub right off.

Closet Organisation

posted on: Friday, 18 January 2013

It can be tricky to keep your closet organised between seasons and if you're like me and have what seems too many clothes for your closet, or you can never find that top that you were looking for, or maybe you have had a near death experience with your closet collapsing under pressure then this might work for you too!

Pick out all the items that you will need in the coming weeks for summer, shoes, bags, scarves whatever it might be, I like to organise mine in categories e.g. tees, dresses ect. 

 Buy a clothes rail, I purchased mine from Kmart for $39.

Fill it will everything you want to be able to find easily, I use my shoe boxes as storage on the bottom and put my bags, belts, scarves and umbrella on the ends of the rail. 

Not only is the rolling rail a great way to keep organised, it brings a boutique like feel to your room.
Full article at this link

The Beauty Style Review All rights reserved Powered by Blogger